WFMW Backwards Edition

It seems today is a backwards WFMW at Rocks In My Dryer.

So, my question is: Does anyone know a good resource for learning Filet Crochet? I would love to be able to learn this…… please leave a comment if you know of somewhere! Thanks so much!

On a second note, I would like to present the Titus 2 project. You can click here for details!

That’s all for now!

Be sure to stop by Rocks In My Dryer for more great questions, and please drop me a comment to let me know you were here! 🙂

~@~Courtney~@~

2 Responses to “WFMW Backwards Edition”


  1. 1 Milehimama October 3, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    Try these:
    http://crochet.about.com/library/weekly/aa050298.htm
    http://www.anniesattic.com/crochet/content.html?cat_id=335&type_id=S
    http://www.crochetnmore.com/123basics.htm

    Filet crochet is easy once you get the hang of it!
    I’ve made very simple blankets using a 4 dc – 2 sp. pattern, alternating rows like you would in brick laying. That means you make 4 double crochets, chain 2, make 4 double crochet, chain 2… the next row, the chain 2 should be over stitch 2 and 3 of your “4 double crochets”. Which doesn’t make any sense written down, but would if you had a hook and yarn in front of you!

  2. 2 Lisa October 8, 2007 at 1:00 am

    I know I’m late on this but hope you will see it anyway. I’m (at least) a 4th-generation crocheter and inherited a bunch of amazing filet crochet patterns from my mom, who got them from various family members. Some of them are ambitious, but those of course are the most beautiful. One example, which I hope to have the patience to complete one day, is a Grecian style maiden with an urn. On my great-grandmother’s living room wall, done in probably size 30 thread, it was roughly 2’x4′ (I’m guessing since I haven’t seen it in years).

    I’ve worked in size 30 thread once and swore I would never do it again — it’s almost like sewing thread. It’s tiny. And I’m a lot older now. Sigh.

    My great-grandmother did tablecloths, bedspreads, all sorts of crazy things in filet crochet. I’m blessed to have one of her tablecloths now. She had 7 children (each received a tablecloth), 31 grandchildren, and on from there, so I’m not kidding when I say I’m blessed to have it! It’s amazing work, and it probably took her close to a year to complete.

    It is very easy to do — it’s just tedious to follow a pattern, depending on what you’re doing. But you can make some really beautiful things. I highly recommend it; it’s almost a lost art.

    If you’re really interested, email me and I can dig some of this stuff out and scan it for you. =)


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Welcome to my blog. I am 19 and the oldest of eleven children. I am learning how to run and care for a home, learning to be more like Jesus, and how to be a godly wife and mother. We love each other, and each day is a new adventure as we seek to glorify the Lord through all we do.

Get your own free Blogoversary button!



Email Me!

Have a question? You can email me!


Support My Site



Today Is:

October 2007
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

My Photos

emmafb1

emmafb2

emmafb3

emmafb4

emmafb5

emmafb6

emmafb7

emmafb9

emmafb10

emmafb11

More Photos

