Why I Support Ron Paul

I have never really considered myself to be a fan of politics. The news was boring, it seemed as if the candidates were always fighting, and that our government has too much control over the US. I have never really seen a candidate that I support as much as  Dr. Ron Paul .

My interest started quite some time ago, at a meeting featuring the “Patriot Pastor”Garret Lear speak on government and issues that are effecting our government today. It was then that he spoke of being good friends with a Dr. Ron Paul. This was the first time I had ever heard of Dr. Paul, and I tucked the name in the back of my mind to research later.

 Fast forward 2-3 weeks. I begin to hear my parents talk about Dr. Paul. At this time, my curiousity was getting the better of me. I then began to research Dr. Paul, and realized that he was following the constitution to the letter. He is more commonly known as Dr. No, because he votes against any un-constitutional congress bills.

The more I read, the more I realized that Dr. Paul would restore America if he was given the chance. The IRS would be gone. The Gold Standard would be re-instated (meaning that the government is not spending money they don’t have) and the list goes on and on.

 Ron Paul is for homeschooling, the government taking its proper place, gun ownership, stopping un-constitutional taxes, shutting down the IRS- and so much more.

 I encourage you to vote and support Dr. Paul.

As for my family, My parents are Precinct Leaders for our area. My brother and I have succesfully handed out over 200 flyers in our neighborhood. We have a Ron Paul sign in our front yard- proudly proclaiming to the world that we are standing up for the constitution. What about you?

 I am going to finish this posting with a writing of my Father’s:

                                                                             The Patriot-Statesman


        
I sat in shock as I watched an alleged ‘debate’ take place on CNN January 30th. What surprised me most, was the painfully obvious lack of respect given to the candidate Ron Paul.The transcript of the debate can be found here .

I watched in amazement, as time and time again, he was ignored and interrupted by the moderator, Anderson Cooper. During the course of the ‘debate’ Ron Paul was not permitted to finish some sentences, instead being assured that he would be permitted to speak after more questions were asked. But, surprise, that time did not come for Dr. Paul.

Ron Paul deserved to be heard in a fair and unbiased forum. We as voters deserved to hear what all the candidates had to say in that debate. Then, and only then, can we make an intelligent, informed decision.

It seems as if there are those who are determined to keep Dr. Paul silent in the established media. I will speak on his behalf, anywhere and everywhere. I speak for the cause of liberty. Real liberty. Not some ‘pie-in-the-sky’ wordplay. Real liberty.

Our founding fathers were brilliant men. They understood that a big, all powerful government means the end of liberty for the people. Ron Paul knows this too. That is the heart of his message. It is so simple that I believe those in the media cannot or choose not to understand it.

Since Ron Paul will not be receiving a fair shake in the mainstream media, I challenge you to take the time and the effort to hear what Ron Paul has to say on the real issues. Read the blogs, visit his website, most important of all…read the constitution. What it has to say about the office of the president, the congress and the supreme court may shock or surprise you. Especially if you look at what we have in place, relative to what the document says we should have.

I have, for many years, been a supporter of the proper interpretation of the most brilliantly written document in our nation’s history: the Constitution of the United States of America. In today’s political landscape, the Constitution is all but ignored. All three of the branches of the federal government have overstepped their legal bounds and taken power that they should not have. Ron Paul has declared “no more!” to this and wants to lead the way back to what the founders intended two centuries ago.

I think this scares some. You see, the original intent of the government was to stay of out the way of Americans’ lives. Those who love and crave power would have something to lose if one like Ron Paul were to win. This fear of the truth is the real motivation of the ‘gag-order’ tactics like I witnessed during the January 30th debate. It would be laughable, if it were not so sad.

I do my best to give ‘due diligence’ in the investigation of a potential candidate. I explore their writings, their speeches, and if applicable, their voting records. I know that I only get one vote. I always want it to count.

In the list of candidates for the 2008 presidential election cycle, I was sadly surprised to find only one candidate who has not waivered in their committment to those who elected them. That candidate is Ron Paul. What I find in his record is very simple. If a piece of legislation that comes before him is constitutional, he votes ‘yes.’ If the piece of legislation is not constitutional, he votes ‘no.’ He has no political axe to grind, no special interests to which he must answer. He just does his job that the people he represents elected him to do. That is a true statesman.

Please, please, please prayerfully consider for whom you intend to vote. The gift of liberty is far too precious a jewel to be thrown away on just another run-of-the-mill politician.

I don’t care what CNN, MSNBC, ABC, NBC, FOX, or CBS tells me to do.

I will be voting for the true patriot-statesman.

I will be voting for Ron Paul.

Thank you for your time- Paul.

Thanks so much for listening!
~@~Courtney~@~

5 Responses to “Why I Support Ron Paul”


  1. 1 wordforit February 5, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    Hi One!! I am hat tipping you on this—couldn’t get a ‘ping’??–and am proud that we are standing together for righteousness in our beliefs and what we know in our heart is the only candidate willing to be unpopular for doing what’s right for this country!

    Thank you for an outstanding post and your familys’ dedication.

    In Christ’s Love, Odale

  2. 2 wordforit February 5, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Forgot to thank you for the link to Garret Lear’s site! When the first words I see at a church site is “Jesus”, it’s usually a good sign. . .;-)

    Thanks!

  3. 3 A Maiden Of Virtue February 5, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    Thank you so very much- it is so refreshing to see others supporting Dr. Paul.

    Mr. Lear was very good when I heard him speak this last summer…. he was talking about the constitution and how the government has gone astray.

    Anyway, Thanks for visiting!

    ~@~Courtney~@~

  4. 4 Wendy February 10, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Great post!! I love that you care, and you are informed. People should vote for who they believe would do the best job, not who is most likely to win. Just think about how different the world could be if everyone would take that stand. And, you are right, Ron Paul is pro-life, pro-homeschooling, pro-family, you name it.

  5. 5 Carrie R. February 18, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    It’s wonderful to see that you’re supporting Dr. Ron Paul!

    One of the first things that opened my eyes up to Dr. Paul was the fact that he wants to put the rights back into the people’s hands–not politicians or judges. I will not vote for a candidate just because they claim to be “Christian.” (I’m not pointing at any particular candidate–just an observation.)

    I am a Christian. I believe in pro-life, pro-family, etc. However, I do not feel that it my place to force my beliefs on anyone. We cannot make anyone do what is right. God himself gave us the choice to choose him; He did not force us. How can we force others to do what we believe is right? We only have the power to do what we believe is the right thing. We must remember that there’s always a possibility of someone who isn’t a Christian may become President. What if they start bringing around changes that are against our beliefs? We cannot force anyone to be a Christian. We can, however, be witnesses by our actions.

    (I am an American, living in Canada. I served in the US Marines and will be writing in Dr. Paul’s name on my absentee ballot.)


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Welcome to my blog. I am 19 and the oldest of eleven children. I am learning how to run and care for a home, learning to be more like Jesus, and how to be a godly wife and mother. We love each other, and each day is a new adventure as we seek to glorify the Lord through all we do.

Get your own free Blogoversary button!



Email Me!

Have a question? You can email me!


Support My Site



Today Is:

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

My Photos

emmafb1

emmafb2

emmafb3

emmafb4

emmafb5

emmafb6

emmafb7

emmafb9

emmafb10

emmafb11

More Photos

