Thursday Thoughts: Sibling Spats

As most of you probably know, I am the oldest of 9 children. My siblings are such a delight to me each and every day. We all love one another very much, but even so, there are some sibling spats, as we are not perfect.

While I have been reading more and more about sibling rivalry, I have been trying to apply some new principles to decrease the number of “issues” that come between us, therefore, creating greater harmony here at home.

  • Step back and take a deep breath. Give both parties some time to cool off.
  • Really listen to what the other person is saying, don’t plan your next statement while they are talking.
  • Ask forgiveness, even if you don’t think you did something wrong. Make sure you don’t just say it, but really mean it.
  • Talk to God about your problem. Ask Him to guide you through this hard time.
  • Ask if there is anything you can do to help. Everyone needs a helping hand sometimes. This person may just need a listening ear.
  • Apply the verse “do not let the sun go down on your anger”. Do your best to solve the problem before it gets worse.

For more great ideas on getting along and truly loving your siblings, I recommend “Making Brothers and Sisters Best Friends”, available through my Astore.

I hope these help you stop fighting with the siblings in your home. God bless you on this Thursday,
~*~Courtney~*~

2 Responses to “Thursday Thoughts: Sibling Spats”


  1. 1 Kira May 15, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Hi Courtney!

    This post can definitely be applied to me! Being the oldest of four children in my family, there are always those daily spats that come up, and it can be hard to handle them in the right way! I’ll remember your suggestions!

    Thanks for the post!

    In Christ,
    Kira

    P.S. Thank you for the comment, and adding me to your blogroll! I’m adding you to mine! 🙂

  2. 2 simply May 26, 2008 at 11:30 am

    very fitting for today :o)

    hope your having a good day today,
    ~simply~


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Welcome to my blog. I am 19 and the oldest of eleven children. I am learning how to run and care for a home, learning to be more like Jesus, and how to be a godly wife and mother. We love each other, and each day is a new adventure as we seek to glorify the Lord through all we do.

Get your own free Blogoversary button!



Email Me!

Have a question? You can email me!


Support My Site



Today Is:

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My Photos

emmafb1

emmafb2

emmafb3

emmafb4

emmafb5

emmafb6

emmafb7

emmafb9

emmafb10

emmafb11

More Photos

