Memorial Day Weekend

(I am re-posting this from last year)

I found a wonderful poem for Memorial Day.

Here it is:

A National Moment of Remembrance On Memorial Day

“That poem about where “poppies blow”
And, “the crosses, row on row”
Still rings true, these ninety years
After written, still brings tears.

We still have Dead, “amid the guns”
And lose our young and our loved ones
Those who lived, “short days ago”
Who, “felt dawn, saw sunset glow”.

In Flanders Fields, “the poppy red”
Still grow near where the blood was bled
They, “Take up our quarrel with the foe”
And still die for Freedoms that we know.

They pass, “The torch” to, “hold it high”
And not, “break the faith with us who die”
For they, “shall not sleep, though poppies grow”
Beneath all those, “crosses, row on row”
In Flanders Fields.”

Del “Abe” Jones

Happy Memorial Day Weekend!

~*~Courtney~*~

3 Responses to “Memorial Day Weekend”


  1. 1 Kira May 24, 2008 at 1:48 pm

    Hi Courtney!

    Are you doing anything special this weekend?

    In Christ,
    Kira

    P.S. Did you hear the news about Steven Curtis Chapman? I posted about it on my blog.

  2. 2 A Maiden Of Virtue May 24, 2008 at 2:46 pm

    We are not doing anything special- I think we are just spending some time together as a family.

    Are ya’ll doing anything?

    I did hear about SCC- that is such a tragedy. I have been praying for him and his family.

    God bless!!

    ~*~Courtney~*~

  3. 3 Kira May 24, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    Not really. We’re just hanging out as a family today too.

    We’ve been praying for the Chapman family also. I just feel so bad for them! I can’t imagine what they must be going through at this time.

    In Christ,
    Kira


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Welcome to my blog. I am 19 and the oldest of eleven children. I am learning how to run and care for a home, learning to be more like Jesus, and how to be a godly wife and mother. We love each other, and each day is a new adventure as we seek to glorify the Lord through all we do.

Get your own free Blogoversary button!



Email Me!

Have a question? You can email me!


Support My Site



Today Is:

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

My Photos

emmafb1

emmafb2

emmafb3

emmafb4

emmafb5

emmafb6

emmafb7

emmafb9

emmafb10

emmafb11

More Photos

