Violin Practice

One of my favorite things to do is practice my violin. It has only been two years since I received it, but it feels like forever for me.

When I was four, I heard someone playing the violin at a homeschool day that we attended. I loved the sound of it, and decided that I would like to play the violin as my choice of an instrument.

A few years later, Mom and Dad put me into piano. I took piano for 5 years, and then I began self-teaching myself the rest of what I needed to know (I am still learning 😉 ).

We began looking at violins, to see what the price ranges were. They were way over budget for me! I began to pray about it, and we found one very low-priced on the internet. I was thrilled! I can remember checking to see when it would arrive every day on the shipping tracker online.

When it arrived, I actually cried. I could not believe God had seen fit to give me one…..

Now, I am learning to play, teaching myself. It is going slower than it would if I had a teacher, but I am not screeching as much, so I suppose I am improving! 🙂

I thought I would share a few pictures from today’s practice:

 

With God, anything is possible. I had only dreamed of this, but how much more God wants to give us if we just ask!

Wishing you a lovely day!

~*~Courtney~*~

1 Response to “Violin Practice”


  1. 1 Liedeke July 21, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Dear Courtney,

    How nice to meet you through your blog. I just found your little corner of cyberspace – within the last twenty minutes actually. So I hope you don’t mind my putting in my two cents’ worth (although you should probably stop reading now if you do).

    Your determination to study the violing is admirable. You know as well as I do that there are many autodidact fiddlers out there, but I think I would have given up within two months if I’d had to train myself. Still, perhaps you will appreciate some pointers from a fellow player? It concerns the ‘posture’ of the fingers on your left hand. You’ll get better tone and better swiftness if you put the top of the tip of your fingers straight down on the fingerboard – and the string, obviously. If you’re playing classical music (which your sheet seems to suggest) this seems to be especially important. You’ll probably have to trim your finger nails down a bit more.

    Another suggestion, if you’ll have it, is to practice keeping your fingers ‘hovering’ very close to the board. That way, they’re right there when you need them, istead of having to come from a distance a centimetre or more away. This is a trick I picked up on when I started doing folk music ten years ago and I still haven’t mastered it, getting to it rather late. It may not be quite as useful in classics, I’m not sure. If you do decide to try it, the best (and most annoying) way to practice is to have someone hold their hand an inch or so above the finger board while you’re playing, so that your fingers can’t stray too far up.

    Well, I’ll settle down to read the rest of your lovely posts now.

    Sincerely,

    ~Liedeke


Leave a Reply

Welcome!

Welcome to my blog. I am 19 and the oldest of eleven children. I am learning how to run and care for a home, learning to be more like Jesus, and how to be a godly wife and mother. We love each other, and each day is a new adventure as we seek to glorify the Lord through all we do.

Get your own free Blogoversary button!



Email Me!

Have a question? You can email me!


Support My Site



Today Is:

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

My Photos

emmafb1

emmafb2

emmafb3

emmafb4

emmafb5

emmafb6

emmafb7

emmafb9

emmafb10

emmafb11

More Photos

