Book Suggestions?

Hi to all of you! πŸ™‚

Do you have any suggestions for good books? I am trying to build a “To Read” list for the year, and I am looking for non-fiction, fiction, history, government, etc. I would greatly appreciate your ideas/suggestions.

Thank you!
~*~Courtney~*~

6 Responses to “Book Suggestions?”


  1. 1 esteemedreader May 26, 2009 at 11:22 am

    Dear Courtney,

    Um, I really like G.A. Henty books. They are historical fiction adventure stories and after you have read some they are pretty predictable but they are very good with mixing history with thrilling stories. You do have to watch out though, he had some wacky religious ideas, but he doesn’t bring them in that often and they are easy to skip. The only one I would not recommend is one called No Surrender. It was like the only truly boring book he ever wrote. Some of my favorites are: The Lion of Saint Mark, and With Cortez in Mexico. That is all I can think of right now and I have to go but I will keep thinking.

    Lulu

    (SavedGirl) http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/LivingforJesus

  2. 2 esteemedreader May 28, 2009 at 6:54 am

    A couple of books I enjoyed are Mother by Kathleen Norris which Vision Forum has put out in a restored version and Christian Modesty and the Public Undressing of America by jeff Pollard.There is also The Ordinary Princess by M.M. Kaye which I found through the IDD blog.

    Robert

  3. 3 southerngrits May 30, 2009 at 7:22 pm

    Hmm, let me think…so many good ones out there! I would recommend The Hiding Place, Pearl Maiden (historical fiction), anything Jane Austen :), and John Ploughman’s Talk (by Charles Spurgeon). Happy reading!

  4. 4 A Maiden Of Virtue May 30, 2009 at 9:53 pm

    Hi y’all! How are you today? πŸ™‚

    Lulu: I *love* the G.A. Henty books! I haven’t read the two that you mentioned however, I will have to look for them at the library. Thanks for mentioning “No Surrender”- I will avoid that one. Thank you for recommending those! : )

    Robert: I haven’t read “Mother” or The Ordinary Princess. I will have to look those up and find a copy. We actually just found “Christian Modesty and The Public Undressing of America” at the thrift store and it was really, really good. Everybody should read that book!

    Leanna:I really enjoyed “The Hiding Place”! That one is a must read! Have you read the follow-up, “Tramp for the Lord”? It was really good as well. I have not read “Pearl Maiden” or “John Ploughman’s talk”- I will be looking for those as well. πŸ™‚

    Thank y’all for taking the time to comment! Blessings as always!

    ~*~Courtney~*~

  5. 5 esteemedreader June 1, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    Dear Courtney,

    Now that I have some more time I will finish thinking of some other books I enjoy. I really love the Elsie Dinsmore books (if you have ever read them, that is why I call myself Lulu). πŸ™‚ I have about 1-18 and 20-21. I need to get the one in the middle before I can read the others. Vision Forum sells 1-12 but you can buy the other 12 from Amazon or Barnes and Noble, etc.

    There is another thing I would recommend that is not a book but is very good. There is a video series called Drive Thru History with Dave Stotts. It is a fun informative look at history from a Christian point of view. They have several series including Rome, Greece, Turkey, and a new one about America. My family has only seen Rome and Greece so far. It is very good but there is one thing I would caution you on. They show some old paitings about those time periods and some of them can be a bit graphic. But overall it is a great fun way to learn.

    You may have read this book but I would also recommend Making Brothers and Sisters Best Friends by the Mallys. They also have a book by Sarah Mally called Before You Meet Prince Charming. I have never read it because I am just not old enough to be thinking about that yet but my sister has read it and really enjoyed it.

    That is all I can think of. I hope you can compile a good reading list this year. I noticed that you called us ya’ll. You must be from the south. πŸ™‚

    Lulu

  6. 6 A Maiden Of Virtue June 1, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    Lulu- I adore the Elsie books! They are really good. I have read both the older ones (I just read them straight of off Gutenberg.org ) and the newer ones. I also like the Mildred/Millie Keith books by the same author. Lulu Raymond is one of my favorite characters! What a neat screen name to have. πŸ™‚

    We watch the “Drive Through History” series on the Inspiration channel sometimes. They show them at 10:30 and 11:00 at nights on some weekends. The only ones we have seen are the American ones, but we will definitely look out for the other ones.

    I have read both Making Brothers and Sisters Best Friends and Before You Meet Prince Charming. They were REALLY good. My siblings and I were reading MBASBF last year with our other read-alouds and everyone really enjoyed it.

    You’re correct- I’m from Alabama, the Heart of Dixie. πŸ™‚ Sometimes the “southerness” creeps out in my writing…. πŸ™‚

    Blessings!
    ~*~Courtney~*~


Leave a comment




Welcome!

Welcome to my blog. I am 19 and the oldest of eleven children. I am learning how to run and care for a home, learning to be more like Jesus, and how to be a godly wife and mother. We love each other, and each day is a new adventure as we seek to glorify the Lord through all we do.

Get your own free Blogoversary button!



Email Me!

Have a question? You can email me!


Support My Site



Today Is:

May 2009
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

My Photos